Foto: Marcelo Camargo/Agência Brasil

With information from Jonas Valente, from Agência Brasil

The Ministry of Health reported in its latest newsletter that seven more states had confirmed cases of measles: Pernambuco, Goiás, Maranhão, Rio Grande do Norte, Espirito Santo, Sergipe and Piauí. The Secretary of Health of the Federal District also issued a note confirming that three people were infected by the virus in the federative unit.

The Ministry of Health epidemiological bulletin released brought the latest update on measles dissemination in the country, taking place from May 19 to August 19, but did not include the DF. 1,680 cases have been confirmed. An additional 7,487 are under investigation and 1,000 have been discarded after analysis.

In addition to the eight units of the Federation, Bahia, Rio de Janeiro, Paraná and Sao Paulo had cases confirmed in the previous edition of the newsletter, with data until August 12. The outbreak is strongly concentrated in the state of São Paulo, accounting for 1,662 cases, 98.9% of the total, with occurrences in 74 municipalities.

After São Paulo come Rio de Janeiro (6 cases), Pernambuco (4) and the Federal District (3). The other states had, until yesterday, only one confirmed episode each. São Paulo is the main focus, with transmission chains from the 74 municipalities where there is virus circulation information.